2018 Frank H Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies Awarded

Eight Students Finish the School Year with Major Scholarships

$1.8M awarded from the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies since 1989


STELLARTON, N.S. – Eight exceptional business students, studying at Atlantic Canadian universities have each been awarded $25,000 as recipients of the 2018 Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies.  

Every year, over 30 finalists are nominated by the Deans of each of the Atlantic Canadian Business Schools. Since its inception, the final eight Award recipients have been chosen by a Board of Trustees, comprised of Atlantic Canadian business and academic leaders.  The Frank H Sobey Awards are made on criteria including: entrepreneurial experience, university & community leadership, career aspirations, and overall academic achievement. 

“We are delighted to welcome eight new future leaders to our alumni who exemplify remarkable entrepreneurial spirit and leadership within their Universities and communities,” said Paul D. Sobey, Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies.  “With an increased emphasis on entrepreneurialism, we are honored to continue to reward young business talent within Atlantic Canadian Universities who will build a brighter economic future for Atlantic Canada, and indeed, our country, over the years to come.”

The award recipients of the 2018 Frank H. Sobey Award for Excellence in Business Studies are:

  • Seth Barkhouse – University of New Brunswick
  • Sara Baxter – Acadia University
  • Craig Duininck – St. Francis Xavier University
  • Stephanie Fitzner – Saint Mary’s University
  • Sydney Gallant – University of Prince Edward Island
  • Jacques-Roch Gauvin – Université de Moncton
  • Roy Abdallah Karam – Cape Breton University
  • Joe Seney – Dalhousie University

The recipients, Trustees and Business Deans were joined at this year’s announcement ceremony by members of the Sobey family, together with members of senior management of the Empire Group of Companies, including Michael Medline, President and CEO of Sobeys Inc.  Mr. Medline addressed the 2018 winners, paying tribute to the Award’s namesake: “We are all here today because of Frank H. Sobey – and because of his business acumen and true spirit of entrepreneurialism. He was truly a great Canadian and embodied the values of giving back and building opportunities for others – values that still resonate through Sobeys.”

Additional information about this year’s Award winners and the qualification and nomination process can be found at www.frankhsobeyawards.com.



About the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies

The Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies currently presents eight awards of $25,000 each. All full-time business students attending Atlantic universities are eligible for consideration. Deans of Business at each university nominate candidates based on entrepreneurial experience, extracurricular and community activities, employment history, career aspirations, as well as academic standing.

Established in 1989, the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies have awarded more than $1,800,000 to business students in the four Atlantic Provinces. Each university in the region offering a business program has had at least one recipient of a Frank H. Sobey Award.

For further information, please contact:

Bernard Doucet, Director, Corporate Affairs, Sobeys Inc.

Phone: 902.752.8371 ext. 2301